Yuri Kozyrev & Kadir van Lohuizen

Yuri Kozyrev & Kadir van Lohuizen

Yuri KozyrevKadir van Lohuizen

Longyearbyen, Svalbard Islands, Norway, June 2018 © Kadir van Lohuizen-NOOR for Fondation Carmignac

Yuri KozyrevKadir van Lohuizen

Resolute Bay, Canada, March 2018 © Kadir van Lohuizen-NOOR for Fondation Carmignac
Dedicated to the Arctic and chaired by climatologist Jean Jouzel, winner of the 2012 Vetlesen Award and co-winner of the 2007 Nobel Peace Award as Director of the IPCC, and under the patronage of Minister Ségolène Royal, French Ambassador for the Arctic and Antarctic Poles, the 9th edition of the Carmignac Photojournalism Award was awarded to Yuri Kozyrev and Kadir van Lohuizen. Their double polar expedition project, «Arctic: New Frontier», focuses on the consequences of the melting of the sea ice for the planet, and the medium-term prospect of its total disappearance.


Visit Yuri Kozyrev’s website page
Visit Kadir van Lohuizen’s website page

Read more


  • Jean Jouzel climatologist, who was awarded the 2012 Vetlesen Prize for his research on polar ice in the Antarctic and Greenland. He was vice-president of the Group of intergovernmental experts on climate change, the GIEC (2002-2015) and co-laureate of the 2007 Nobel
  • David Barber specialist in Arctic climate change, and Chief Scientist of the expedition on Canadian icebreaker and Arctic research vessel CCGS Amundsen
  • Emma Bowkett director of Photography, Financial Times Weekend Magazine
  • Pascal Beausse director of the photography collection, Centre national des arts plastiques (CNAP)
  • Nicolas Jimenez director of Photography, Le Monde
  • Sarah Leen director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine
  • Lizzie Sadin Photojournalist, laureate of the 8th Edition of the Carmignac Award
  • Thierry Grillet The Carmignac Photjournalism Award is pleased to welcome back Thierry Grillet, Chief Curator, Bibliothèque nationale de France (BNF), as artistic consultant for the third consecutive year.


New Frontier, Yuri Kozyrev, Kadir van Lohuizen

Co-published by : Reliefs / Fondation Carmignac
Release date : 11/07/2018
Contributors : Jean Jouzel, David Barber, Yuri Kozyrev & Kadir van Lohuizen – winners of the 9th edition
Distributed by : Harmonia Mundi


Visa Pour l’Image-Perpignan
#repost @visapourlimage
The 10th Carmignac Photojournalism Award (@prixcarmignac) is dedicated to the Amazon and the issues related to its deforestation. It is chaired by Yolanda Kakabadse, Minister of the Environment of Ecuador between 1998 and 2000 and President of WWF from 2010 to 2017. The 10th Carmignac Photojournalism Award has gone to @tomprotti – Congratulations! ⁣

Pictured is an image from the award-winning work. The caption: Araribóia, Brazil – A member of the Guajajara forest guard in a moment of sad silence at the sight of a toppled tree cut down by suspected illegal loggers on the Araribóia indigenous reserve in Maranhão state. With deep cuts to Brazil’s environmental and indigenous protection bodies in recent years, tribes people across the Amazon are increasingly forming vigilante.⁣

Photo © #TommasoProtti for the @fondationcarmignac #prixcarmignacamazonia #prixcarmignac

Other Laureats

Yuri Kozyrev & Kadir van Lohuizen